Tags

,

These students had been asking for authentic listening practice, so every now and then, I like to bring in recordings of people from different backgrounds with different accents.

Today, I brought in a news report with short interviews included. It was a video, and I was going to show it, but at the last minute, I decided that it would be too difficult for these students. I slowed the recording down a little, using Audacity, but they still found it extremely difficult.

These classes are of 45 minutes in duration, and, unsurprisingly, we couldn’t reach the discussion stage. Here’s some of the language I had to explain, and in explaining I made a goof regarding lay vs lie (because Eric was playing Lay down Sally in my brain!). So, my apologies, students, and click here to see my explanation on these tricky words.

I hope to resume the recording where we left off today in the next lesson – can you guess what it’s about?
