Tags

,

I went into his office, said hello, but didn’t say anything else. EG asked, ‘How was your weekend?’ Fantastic! I didn’t mean my weekend, I meant it was a fantastic question. Pronounced correctly. Gramatically perfect. 🙂

So, we started to speak about his weekend (not mine, of course. STT, remember?). He had a tiff with his wife because he decided to go out with his son on a ‘short’ bike ride. 4 kilometres. On a dirt road in the country. I ought to mention that EG’s an ultra marathon runner, and races regularly. In fact, the reason why he went out with his son for a bike ride was because he’d mistakenly thought that he had a race, and had planned a relaxing pre-race day. When he realised that he’d made a mistake – it was the next weekend – he had to burn his adrenalin somehow, but his wife doesn’t share his passion for ‘extreme’ sports, and wanted him home with her. Good to be wanted, isn’t it?

Bicycle flat tyre Dogme ELT Lesson Anatomy Analysis

Anyway, we spent about an hour talking about his weekend, including the discussion on the language that had emerged. Let us take a look.

  • agree – agreed with – agreed – agreement
  • complain
  • path – track – dirt track – dirt road
  • puncture /ˈpʌŋktʃə(r)/ (noun and verb)
  • inflate – pump up
  • tyres – inner tube
  • patch (noun and verb) – patches
  • disassemble /ˌdɪsəˈsemb(ə)l/
  • go out (EG’s translation: leave for the street)
  • similar to (car tyres are similar to bicycle tyres)
  • need to (I needed to run/do sports/study)
  • use up/drink up (He used up/drank up all my water)
  • be able to (We were then able to carry on)
  • because of (You’re tired because of studying/doing sports)
EG also had problems with some construction.
  • She wait the weekend for stay with me (She waits for the weekend to be with me / She waits for the weekend for us to be together)
  • I wait the weekend for go out (I wait for the weekend to go out)
  • Past continuous: while we were repairing the bike, we saw a friend.
  • When I get him come with me (When I succeeded in getting him to come with me) (When I managed to get him to come with me)
Pronunciation (today’s problem appears to revolve around the i /aɪ/ sound.
  • arrive /əˈraɪv/
  • Friday /ˈfraɪdeɪ/
  • cyclist /ˈsaɪklɪst/
Persistent errors:
  • She said me (She told me)
  • For/To to express purpose
  • Comparatives (more cheap/fast/slow instead of cheaper/faster/slower)
  • In the Saturday (on Saturday); the next Sunday (next Sunday)
